Are we doing this? The sleeveless coat

opsh

I saw this link and fell in love with the sleeveless coat trend. How do you make this 70’s avant-guard look work? I did a little on-line research and discovered:

  • I love the attitude it makes when you mix this menswear with casual pieces.
  • If you want sleeves, it’s a good idea to layer what you expose, be it your leather or denim jacket, thinner sweater, t-shirt, dress shirt, or lumberjack shirt.
  • It’s all about thin belts, statement scarves, and playing with a mix of footwear.

boohoo olivia waterfall ebay

boohoo

calderlondon 2015.04.09_CalderLondon10645

calder london

(worn with the addidas stan smith

for more chic sneaks, click here)

karen millen

karen millen

(the perfect sleeveless coat, structured bag, and booties)

thebestfashionblog Fonnesbech-Spring-Summer-2015-3

the best fashion blog

victoria beckham net-a-porter

victoria beckham on net-a-porter

lookastic sleeveless-coat-tunic-skinny-pants-low-top-sneakers-clutch-watch-pearl-necklace-original-3741

looktastic

rachel comey

rachel comey

justthedesign.tumbler

justthedesign

justthedesign

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

glamradar

isabel marant “everly” tweed vest on net-a-porter

little-blonde-book-style

little blonde book

top shop

bonafide supernova sleevelesscoat

bonafidesupernova

fifi.com streetstyle-vest1

fifi (chic happens)

.

I plan on getting this one from dynamite to wear with shorts and a t-shirt, or dress it up with black for the office.

dynamite sleeveless blazer

.

If this look is too avant-guard for you, then I hope you at least enjoy this. A friend posted it on instagram and it made me giggle.

cf8d4ffb616c722a5d8646c3f0e40452

.

Do you plan on trying or skipping this trend, or perhaps flirting with sleeveless denim jackets, capes, or ponchos?

xx

16 thoughts on “Are we doing this? The sleeveless coat

  1. Love the look — but mostly the straight-up-and-down column cut jackets… I feel like you would have to be supermodel skinny to pull off the trenchcoat or more full-skirted jacket. Or maybe that’s because I have NO waist and super-long legs so I fear those kind of cuts in all clothes!

  2. I’m in love with the first look! I agree I love mixing the men’s wear with feminine touches. I bought one randomly at wet seal for $9 they had a additional on sale items but it’s a large. I was thinking maybe pulling it off as a overly boyfriend vest but I’m still not sure. Wish I can repost this post ”

Leave a comment